Olympic Diving

Diving has been an Olympic discipline since the 1904 Games in St Louis and Great Britain have won a total of thirteen medals across the Olympic history including most recently gold for Tom Daley and Matty Lee at the Tokyo Games in 2021.

Key Facts/Brief History:

Great Britain made its Olympic diving debut in 1908.

Women's diving was added to the Olympic Games in 1912.

Originally, there was only a platform diving event and a plunge for distance event incorporated into diving at the Olympic Games. A men's springboard diving event replaced the plunge for distance event in 1908 and a synchronised diving variant for both the springboard and platform events was added in 2000.

In the history of the Olympic Games, Great Britain have won two gold, three silver medals and eight bronze medals. Tom Daley and Matty Lee picked up Team GB's last gold medal in the Synchronised 10m platform event in Tokyo.

Tokyo 2020:

Tom Daley and Matty Lee took Great Britain’s first synchro Olympic title and second Olympic diving gold medal in the history of the Games, as they came out on top in the Men’s Synchronised 10m Platform final.

Tom Daley took bronze in the Men’s 10m Platform final – adding to the medal of the same colour which he won in the event at London’s Olympic Games eight years prior.

Jack Laugher returned to the podium in the Men’s 3m Springboard final – adding a bronze medal to the silver he won in the event at Rio in 2016.

Andrea Spendolini-Sirieix and Lois Toulson both made the Women’s 10m Platform final – finishing in seventh and ninth-place respectively.

Rio 2016:

Jack Laugher and Chris Mears took Great Britain’s first ever diving gold medal at an Olympic Games – triumphing in the Men’s Synchronised 3m Springboard final.

Jack Laugher’s first individual Olympic medal came with silver in the Men’s 3m Springboard final at the Rio Games.

Tom Daley and Daniel Goodfellow made sure that Great Britain had athletes on both male synchro podiums, as they finished with Men’s Synchronised 10m Platform bronze.

Tonia Couch again reached the final of the Women’s 10m Platform and Grace Reid made Olympic final on her debuts in the Women’s 3m Springboard.

London 2012:

Tom Daley took his first Olympic medal as he stormed to bronze in the Men’s 10m Platform final

Jack Laugher made his Olympic debut in the Men’s 3m Springboard.

Beijing 2008

Tom Daley made his Olympic debut at just 14 years old – making the final of the Men’s 10m Platform and finishing seventh.

Tonia Couch and Stacie Powell both made the final of the Women’s 10m Platform – finishing in eighth and tenth respectively in their maiden Olympic outings. They also competed as a pair in the Women’s 10m Synchro.