Laugher honoured as 2018 Athlete of the Year

17 Nov 2018

Olympic, European and Commonwealth champion diver Jack Laugher has been named as British Swimming’s Overall Athlete of the Year.

Having won earlier in the evening Diving Athlete of the Year he was recognised with the organisations top award

Laugher has continued to be a dominant force within Men’s international springboard diving throughout 2018. The Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games proved highly rewarding with three trips to the top of the podium and two titles defended, the 1m and 3m synchro.

A further two medals followed a the FINA Diving World Cup in Wuhan, China, silver in the 3m synchro alongside partner Chris Mears and bronze in the 3m springboard.

The Leeds-based athlete then rounded of the season with more medals at the Glasgow 2018 European Championships, gold in both the 1m and 3m.

After being named British Swimming Athlete of the Year Jack Laugher said, “It’s such a great honour to be recognised in this way. There’s been a huge amount of success across all of the disciplines in 2018 so it means the world.”

British Swimming Chairman Maurice Watkins CBE said, “My congratulations go to British Swimming’s Athlete of the Year Jack Laugher. Jack has had a truly successful year defending Commonwealth titles and securing new European titles. As an athlete he works hard to push the boundaries within his events and continues to lead the way within men’s international springboard competition.

“The British Swimming Awards are a fitting way of honouring and acknowledging our many athletes and coaches from across our aquatic sports. Their hard work and dedication striving always to achieve the best has been evident over the last 12 months of wonderful sport and gives me great confidence as we progress through this Olympic and Paralympic cycle towards Tokyo.”

Commenting on the awards evening, British Swimming Chief Executive Jack Buckner said, “I would like to personally congratulate Jack Laugher for a hugely successful season of diving as he continues to achieve on the highest stage.

“It is evident that he works hard each and every day to be the best and the award tonight reflects his dedication to diving.

“I would also like to applaud all of tonight’s other winners and look forward to another busy year of sport.

“Nights like these are the perfect opportunity for the British aquatics community to come together and celebrate the countless achievements throughout 2018.

“It also highlights the great talent and depth we have across our sports with less than two years to go until the Tokyo 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games.”

The British Swimming Awards also recognised by discipline the Athlete, Coach and Emerging Athlete of the Year celebrating the fantastic achievements and success across the sports in 2018.

Full list of winners:


Jack Laugher


Swimming: Duncan Scott

Para-Swimming: Tom Hamer

Diving: Jack Laugher

Synchro: Kate Shortman and Isabelle Thorpe

Water Polo (Female): Stephanie Whittaker

Water Polo (Male): Matthias Madden


Swimming: Tom Dean

Para-Swimming: Toni Shaw

Diving: Lucas Thomson


Swimming: Steven Tigg

Para-Swimming: Jacquie Marshall 

Diving: Alex Rochas

Water Polo: Nick Hume

Synchro: Paola Basso