Peaty and Daley winners in 10th LEN awards

22 Jan 2018

Olympic Champion breaststroker Adam Peaty and World Champion diver Tom Daley have been named in the LEN Awards, celebrating excellence across aquatics in 2017.

Peaty won for the second year in a row after 12-months which saw him win individual World 50m and 100m breaststroke titles in Budapest at the FINA World Championships in July and the 100m SC title taking another European record.

He said: "I’m very happy to receive this prestigious award in such a competitive field.

“It’s great to bring it back for British Swimmers and hopefully over the coming years I can bring back a few more.”

Daley’s win is his third title, previously taking the top slot in 2009 and 2015 with squad mate Jack Laugher triumphing in 2016.

Tom Daley said: “It’s a pretty high honour for me to be awarded this award for the third year.

“On top of the FINA diver of the year for 2017 it is a pretty exciting time for me. – even though it does make me feel like a grandad!”

LEN President Paolo Barelli said:“It was a challenge to pick the best ones in each discipline as European athletes amassed piles of medals at the World Championships in 2017” “We are really proud of our greats who didn’t stop showing their class, making Europe the most successful continent again.”

The full list of winners are:

LEN Awards 2017


Adam Peaty (GBR)

Sarah Sjostrom (SWE)


Tom Daley (GBR)

Nadezhda Bazina (RUS)


Svetlana Kolesnichenko (RUS)

Giorgio Minisini (ITA)

Open water:

Marc-Antoine Olivier (FRA)

Aurelie Muller (FRA)

Water polo:

Marko Bijac (CRO)

Laura Ester (ESP)