Rio champions recognised in New Year honours

30 Dec 2016

British Swimming’s Rio 2016 Olympic and Paralympic Champions have been recognised in the 2017 New Year’s Honours.

Five-time Paralympian and Rio 2016 Champion Sascha Kindred leads the athlete honours as he is made a Commander of the Order of the British Empire for his services to swimming in Great Britain.

Olympic Champion and Team GB’s first gold medallist of the Rio 2016 Olympics, Adam Peaty, is made a Member of the Order of the British Empire.

Bethany Firth, ParalympicsGB’s most successful athlete at the 2016 Paralympic Games is also awarded an MBE along with nine other fellow Rio Paralympic champions and teammates.

History makers Jack Laugher and Chris Mears are awarded MBEs for their services to diving after winning Great Britain’s first ever gold medal at an Olympic Games.

Also recognised in the 2017 honours list is Tim Reddish OBE, he is to be become a Commander of the Order of the British Empire.

Following a successful Para-swimming career he became the Chair of the British Paralympic Association, a position he still holds, and he has seen ParalympicsGB through two highly successful games.

Helen Murray, a Scottish-based volunteer, will awarded an MBE for her services to swimming in Scotland. Helen has held a number of positions including President of the Scottish Amateur Swimming Association from 2004-2005.

British Swimming Honourees:

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire

Sascha Kindred – For services to swimming

Tim Reddish – Chair, British Paralympic Association. For services to Sport.

Members of the Order of the British Empire

Claire Cashmore – For services to swimming

Bethany Firth – For services to swimming

Michael Jones – For services to swimming

Jack Laugher – For services to diving

Chris Mears – For services to diving

Stephanie Millward - For services to swimming

Aaron Moores – For services to swimming

Helen Murray – For services to swimming in Scotland

Adam Peaty – For services to swimming

Eleanor Robinson – For services to swimming

Susannah Rodgers – For services to swimming

Hannah Russell – For services to swimming

Stephanie Slater – For services to swimming

Alice Tai – For services to swimming

Matthew Wylie – For services to swimming

British Swimming would like to congratulate all those receiving 2017 honours and you can view the full New Year honours list here.