24 swimmers added to Team GB for Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games

27 Apr 2021

The British Olympic Association (BOA) has today confirmed additional names to the swimming team that will represent Team GB at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games this summer, following the second phase of selection at the British Swimming Selection Trials in London last week.

Joining the four pre-selected swimmers, Adam Peaty, Duncan Scott, James Wilby and Luke Greenbank, who were named on the team back in January, are a further 24 athletes, taking the current team size to 28.

Former World Champion Ben Proud added his name to the list thanks to posting a trials-winning time that would have earned him silver at the 2019 World Championships in the 50m Freestyle event.

In what was a fitting finale to a very successful trials, both Scott and Tom Dean went inside the previous British 200m Freestyle record, with Dean now joining Scott on the plane to Japan with ambitions of both individual and relay success. Add the likes of world champion James Guy into the mix and the Men’s 4x200m Freestyle relay team will be focused on the podium, after taking silver in Rio five years ago.

Ben Proud BSST21
Ben Proud has been selected for his second Olympic team

There are also a wave of young women who have used the 12-month hiatus to continue improving; Kathleen Dawson winning the 100m and 200m Backstroke in London two weeks ago, becoming the eighth-fastest swimmer in history in the former, Molly Renshaw obliterating the British 200m Breaststroke record, whilst rising stars Freya Anderson and Abbie Wood qualified in a pair of events apiece.

Also named on the team are Litchfield brothers Joe and Max, 400m Individual Medley specialist Aimee Willmott – for who it will be her third Games – and Alys Thomas, the Swansea-based butterfly swimmer making her long-awaited Olympic debut at the age of 30.

Team GB selection Stirling Tokyo 2020
The University of Stirling swimmers selected for Team GB

Team GB Chef de Mission for Tokyo 2020, Mark England, commented:

“In the space of less than a week we have seen the number of Team GB athletes selected for Tokyo jump from 40 to 70, which is incredibly exciting and demonstrates just how much the momentum is growing as we edge closer to 23rd July. 

“The quality of this team is exceptionally high and the recent selection trials illustrated how dedicated each swimmer has been to earning their selection for Tokyo throughout what has undoubtedly been a very challenging period. Congratulations to everyone and we look forward to watching you all in action in Tokyo.”

Speaking of the quality of the team selected to travel to Japan, British Swimming Performance Director and Swimming Team Leader for Tokyo, Chris Spice, said:

“What an amazing week of racing we just witnessed at the iconic London Aquatics Centre. We had several stand out performances and personal bests at every turn. We have over 40% athletes on the team that were not with us at our last World Championships in 2019 which demonstrates the outstanding work coaches and support staff across Britain have done keeping these athletes training to the highest of levels in very challenging circumstances during the last 18 months.

“Of course, our work has only just begun and we now turn our attention to swimming faster in the summer which I know every athlete on this team is capable of. If we do this, I am sure we can have a very successful Tokyo Games.”

Whilst the bulk of the team is now confirmed, further swimmers may be added in June as per the third and final phase of the selection policy; subsequent additions will come courtesy of performances at the European Championships and other identified meets, with a primary focus on bolstering the potential for relay medals.

The final qualifying event for the Marathon Swim will take place from 19-20 June in Setubal, Portugal, with any athletes who qualify to be named in the weeks following.

Your Great Britain team:

Freya Anderson – Upton (The Wirral), Bath National Centre

Kieran Bird – Bicester, Bath National Centre

Kathleen Dawson, Warrington, University of Stirling

Tom Dean – Maidenhead, Bath National Centre

Luke Greenbank – Cockermouth, Loughborough National Centre (pre-selected in January 2021)

James Guy – Bury, Bath National Centre

Anna Hopkin – Chorley, Loughborough National Centre

Calum Jarvis - Wadebridge, Bath National Centre

Dan Jervis – Neath, Swansea University

Harriet Jones – Cardiff, City of Cardiff

Joe Litchfield – Pontefract, Loughborough National Centre

Max Litchfield – Pontefract,  Loughborough National Centre

Ross Murdoch – Balloch, University of Stirling

Adam Peaty – Uttoxeter, Loughborough National Centre (pre-selected in January 2021)

Jacob Peters - Poole, Bath National Centre

Ben Proud – London, Bath University

Molly Renshaw – Mansfield, Loughborough National Centre

Matthew Richards - Droitwich, Bath National Centre

Duncan Scott – Glasgow, University of Stirling (pre-selected in January 2021)

Alys Thomas – Swansea, Swansea University

Sarah Vasey - Derby, Loughborough National Centre

Jacob Whittle - Alfreton, Derventio Excel

James Wilby – York, Loughborough National Centre (pre-selected in January 2021)

Cassie Wild - Chester, University of Stirling

Brodie Williams - Street, Bath National Centre

Aimee Willmott - Middlesbrough, University of Stirling

Alicia Wilson - Tadworth, Guildford City

Abbie Wood – Buxton, Loughborough National Centre