Team England reveals Gold Coast Swimmers

4 Oct 2017

Adam Peaty will headline the Team England swimming team heading to the Gold Coast for the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

A total of 15 swimmers have been selected by Swim England after the first phase of qualification.

Peaty will be heading to his second Games, looking to retain the 100m Breaststroke title he won in Glasgow four years ago.

The team also includes Commonwealth medallists James Guy, Siobhan-Marie O’Connor, Andrew Willis, Molly Renshaw, Ben Proud and Lizzie Simmonds.

O’Connor, who trains at Bath National Centre, had a hugely successful Games in 2014. She secured a total of six medals including gold in the 200m Individual Medley.

While there is a wealth of experience on the team, there are also six athletes who will be making their debut appearance. This includes 16-year-olds Freya Anderson of Ellesmere College Titans and Emily Large of Newcastle Swim Team, who both won gold medals at this year's World Junior Championships.

Commenting on today’s announcement, Swimming Team Leader Grant Robins said: “This is an exciting team that has been selected for the 2018 Commonwealth Games. We have a wealth of experience from athletes that know what it takes to win.

“We also have a number of new athletes that will be taking the step up and experiencing a multi-sport event for the first time.

“I know the team will work hard in their home programmes to be the best they can be when they step on the plane to the Gold Coast.”

These fifteen athletes are being announced by Team England following the first phase of selections by Swim England. The remaining athletes will be selected following qualification at the Swim England National Winter Championships 2017 in December.

Athletes selected so far:

Adam Peaty - National Centre Loughborough

James Guy - National Centre Bath

Ben Proud - Plymouth Leander

Siobhan-Marie O'Connor - National Centre Bath

Molly Renshaw - National Centre Loughborough

Eleanor Faulkner - City of Sheffield

Andrew Willis - National Centre Bath

Max Litchfield - City of Sheffield

Lizzie Simmonds - Edinburgh University

Freya Anderson - Ellesmere College

Sarah Vasey - National Centre Loughborough

Luke Greenbank - National Centre Loughborough

Jocelyn Ulyett - Loughborough University

Holly Hibbott - Stockport Metro

Emily Large - Newcastle Swim Team