Summers-Newton closes in on world record

27 Jul 2017

Maisie-Summers Newton (Northampton) came within touching distance of breaking the Women’s SB6 100m Breaststroke world record on the third night of the British Summer Championships in Sheffield.

The 15-year-old took gold in the Women’s MC 100m Breaststroke final with 998 points. Her time of 1:34.99 was just 0.04 seconds off the current world leading time set by Australia’s Tiffany Thomas Kane in 2015.

Silver went to Louise Fiddes (SB14, Hatfield) with a total of 852 points after setting a time of 1:16.57. Rebecca Redfern (SB13, Worcester) won bronze with a time of 1:16.47 and 850 points.

All three medallists’ times were within the consideration standard for the World Para Swimming Championships, which begin at the end of September.

Paralympic silver medallist Scott Quin (SB14, Warrender Baths) secured a consideration time of 1:07.64 as he won gold in the Men’s MC 100m Breaststroke final with 943 points.

Connor Morrison (SB14, Aberdeen Performance) also went below the consideration standard in a time of 1:07.99 as he claimed the silver medal with 928 points. Tyler Ioannou (SB14, Bracknell) won the bronze medal with 726 points after setting a time of 1:13.78.

There was nothing to separate Hannah Russell (S12, City of Manchester Aquatics) and Stephanie Millward (S8, Corsham) in the Women’s MC 100m Freestyle final as both swimmers finished with a total of 923 points to claim a gold medal each.

Russell secured the World Championships consideration standard in a time of 59.97, while Millward stopped the clock in a time of 1:06.46. Alice Tai (S9, Bournemouth College) claimed the bronze medal with 862 points and a time of 1:03.98.

Jonathan Fox (S7, City of Manchester Aquatics) was back on the top step of the podium for the second time in as many days after adding the Men’s MC 100m Freestyle title to the 100m Backstroke title he won on Wednesday.

Fox secured gold with 862 points in a time of 1:03.40. S9 swimmer Lewis White (City of Derby) won silver in a World Championships consideration time of 57.13 and a points tally of 852. Ollie Hynd (S8, Nova Centurions) finished third with 836 points after setting a time of 59.27.

Victory in the Men’s 1500m Freestyle 19+ years age group went to Loughborough University’s Tobias Robinson after a close fought battle with Tom Derbyshire (Bath University) in the fastest heat.

There was very little between the two swimmers heading into the final two lengths, but Robinson lowered his personal best by nine seconds to pull away to claim the victory in a time of 15:09.50. Jay Lelliott (Bath University) joined the pair on the podium after securing bronze.

Amelia Clynes (City of Leeds) was the fastest in the Women’s 200m Butterfly 17/18 years final to take the win and gold. Clynes touched ahead of Laura Stephens (Plymouth Leander) and Isabel Spinley (Deepings) who won silver and bronze respectively.

Newcastle’s Emily Large claimed her second title in as many days, adding the Women’s 200m Butterfly 16 years title to the gold medal she won in last night’s 50m Butterfly final in the same age group.

David Cumberlidge (Edinburgh) was the first to touch in a close Men’s 100m Freestyle 19+ years final to take gold ahead of Miles Munro of Bath University and Adam Barrett of Loughborough University.

Freya Rayner (City of Sunderland) swam a personal best time of 25.24 to beat British champion Anna Hopkin (Ealing) in the Women’s 50m Freestyle 19+ years final. Hopkin finished second and Rachel-Louise Masson (South Aberdeen) touched the wall in third.

Loughborough University’s Imogen Clark won her second gold medal of the meet in the Women’s 50m Freestyle 17/18 years final.

Clark won the 50m Breaststroke title on day one in the same age group and she showed her versatility by winning the ‘splash and dash’ of the 50m free on day three. Anna Maine of Woking was next to touch to win silver, closely followed by Amy Grant (City of Derby) who took bronze.

The Men’s 400m Individual Medley 17/18 years title was won by Jacob Greenow of Taunton Deane as he pulled away from the rest of the competitors in the final two legs. Nathan Hughes (Loughborough National Centre) came second and Ben Harrison (Mount Kelly) finished third.

For full results from day three of the British Summer Championships 2017 click here