FINA Diving World Series returns to London

17 Sep 2019

British Swimming is delighted to confirm that the FINA/CNSG Diving World Series will return to the UK in 2020, a key meet in the build up to the Olympic Games.

After staging a sensational finale to the series in 2019, the London Aquatics Centre will once again welcome the world’s best divers as the series concludes in the UK capital once more.

The Diving World Series 2020 will be staged over four legs, starting in Montreal (CAN) on 28 February – 1 March. The circuit will then move to Beijing (CHN) from 6-8 March and Kazan (RUS) from 20-22 March before culminating in London from 27-29 March.

By virtue of their success in last year’s series and at the FINA World Championships in Gwangju, Jack Laugher, Tom Daley and Grace Reid have all secured automatic spots for all four rounds, as have GB pairings in both the Men’s 3m and Men’s 10m Synchro events.

At the 2019 edition Jack Laugher and Tom Daley were crowned overall series champions in the 3m Springboard and 10m Platform respectively, whilst Great Britain won six medals in total.

There are 10 events on the programme of the FINA/CNSG Diving World Series:

Men's 3m Springboard
Men's 10m Platform
Men's 3m Synchro
Men’s 10m Synchro
Mixed 3m Synchro
Mixed 10m Synchro
Women's 3m Springboard
Women's 10m Platform
Women's 3m Synchro
Women’s 10m Synchro

The total prize money available for the 2020 Series is approaching 1.5 million US dollars; only divers taking part in all four legs are eligible for overall prize money.

Tickets will be on sale in due course. To be the first to receive information make sure you’re signed up for the British Swimming newsletter.

Diving World Series 2020 calendar

1. Montreal (CAN) – from 28 February - 1 March
2. Beijing (CHN) – from 6-8 March
3. Kazan (RUS) – from 20-22 March
4. London (GBR) - from 27-29 March

In addition, FINA has announced the date of the FINA Diving World Cup 2020, which doubles up as a test and qualifying event for the 2020 Olympic Games. That competition will run from 21-26 April 2020. The qualifying system and the timeline are explained here in this document.