Home Nation’s confirm divers for Birmingham 2022

21 Jun 2022

Twenty Nine divers from across England, Scotland and Wales are set to represent their home nation at this summer’s Commonwealth Games in Birmingham.

All eyes will be on five days of diving competition at the newly-built Sandwell Aquatics Centre from 4th August, with 18 Team England, eight Team Scotland


and three Team Wales divers in action across 12 Commonwealth Games medal events.

Team England finished top of the diving medals table on the Gold Coast in 2018, with four golds and eight medals in total and include Olympic medallists Matty Lee, Jack Laugher and Daniel Goodfellow among their roster of 18 athletes for Birmingham 2022. The group also contains five athletes who have stepped on to a Commonwealth Games podium before – with Laugher, Goodfellow, Lois Toulson, Noah Williams and Matthew Dixon all hoping for further Games success in Team England colours.

Jack Laugher, a five-time Commonwealth Champion said: “It’s my fourth Commonwealth Games, which is obviously super exciting, especially with it being in Birmingham in our home country, it’s massive. The ambition is to do as best as I can, I’ve had a really successful year with three golds at the British Championships and now heading into the World Championships to shake the cobwebs off at a really large event.”

Grace Reid
Grace Reid is going to her fourth Games

Three Team Scotland divers nominated are set to make sequential Commonwealth appearances, following on from a historic Games on the Gold Coast. Grace Reid - selected for a fourth Games appearance, having made her debut at the age of just 13 at Delhi 2010 - scored a stunning gold in the 1m Springboard event in 2018 to take what was the first ever diving medal for a Scottish female diver and Scotland’s first diving gold for 60 years. Reid, along with Gold Coast Men’s 1m Springboard bronze medallist, James Heatly, will first compete with the 14-strong British team at this month’s World Championships in Budapest before assembling with the cohort of eight Scottish divers headed to Birmingham 2022.

Aiden Heslop became the first diver to represent Wales in over 20 years when he made his Commonwealth debut as a 15-year old in 2018. Four years on the FINA High Diving Qualifier champion and Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series podium topper is dropping back down to the 10m to compete both in the individual and Mixed synchro event, whilst Lucy Hawkins and Ruby Thorne will make their Commonwealth debut to complete the trio selected Team Wales.

Aidan Heslop Abu Dhabi 2021 [Getty]
Aiden Heslop has gone onto high diving success since his Commonwealth debut

Team selections

England (18)

  • Amy Rollinson
  • Andrea Spendolini-Sirieix
  • Desharne Bent-Ashmeil
  • Eden Cheng
  • Emily Martin
  • Evie Smith
  • Lois Toulson
  • Robyn Birch
  • Yasmin Harper
  • Anthony Harding
  • Ben Cutmore
  • Daniel Goodfellow
  • Jack Laugher
  • Jordan Houlden
  • Kyle Kothari
  • Matthew Dixon
  • Matty Lee
  • Noah Williams

Scotland (8)

  • Ross Beattie
  • Cameron Gammage
  • James  Heatly
  • Clara Kerr
  • Danny Mabbott
  • Gemma McArthur
  • Angus Menmuir
  • Grace Reid

Wales (3)

  • Lucy Hawkins
  • Aidan Heslop
  • Ruby Thorne

Individual and synchronised divers from across the Commonwealth will compete in events across the 1m and 3m springboard and the 10m platform. For full scheduling information, visit the Birmingham 2022 website here.