Jack Laugher Rome 2022 1m Springboard [Getty]

Laugher wins European male diver of the year at 2022 LEN Awards

16 Feb 2023

Jack Laugher has been named LEN European diver of the year for 2022 after his stunning year off the boards was recognised by both public voters and those involved in the sport.

Laugher was in good company in the running to win his third honour, which he last won in 2018. The news continues what has been an impressive run by British divers, with Laugher and Tom Daley taking the prize in six of the last seven years between them. 

The British Diving Performance Centre Leeds athlete came out on top of a six-person shortlist for the award - which also included compatriot and European champion Noah Williams - thanks in part to votes from the public.

2022 was a great year for the 28-year-old, as he picked up a total of eight medals across the world and European championships, as well as the Commonwealth Games. His performances included two stunning World Championships silver medals in the 1m Springboard and 3m Synchro, the latter with teammate Anthony Harding, before he headed to Rome – taking gold medals in the same two events.

Off the back of being nominated, Laugher then continued his form on the boards by taking individual 3m gold at the British National Diving Cup in Edinburgh two weeks ago.

Speaking on winning the annual prize, a hugely grateful Jack said: "It's an incredible honour to be nominated in the first place for male diver of the year - but to actually win the award, and to win it for a third time, is such a huge achievement for me. It really caps off a brilliant year for myself, and an amazing year for Team GB, British Swimming and British Diving as well.

"We had some fantastic results across the pool, and to have two British females and two British males nominated is a massive achievement. To come out on top, I'm so proud. 

"I'd just like to thank everyone who has helped me to get to the position I'm in to be able to win these awards, and hopefully I'll continue to continue my success in the future and up to the Olympic Games as well. Thank you very much to LEN and to everyone who voted, I really appreciate the support and love from everyone."

Andrea Spendolini-Sirieix, Lois Toulson and Williams were also nominated for awards , of which 30% were awarded based on votes from the public, and 70% from LEN members and technical committee voting.

To view all the winners in more detail, click here.