Malaysia and Singapore present early season test

20 Oct 2017

The FINA Diving Grand Prix stops of Kuala Lumpur and Singapore will present an early season test for a team of six young divers looking demonstrate their form. 

The National Aquatic Centre of Malaysia will host the first of two Southeast Asian stops on the Grand Prix circuit from the 26 – 29 October before Singapore takes over the reins from the 2 – 5 November.

European Junior Diving Platform Champion Eden Cheng will spearhead a young team of British talent to face some of the world’s best diving athletes.

Team leader and British Diving’s Talent & Development Manager Julian Bellan said,

“The divers selected form the best of our Team J, who we see as strong prospects in the coming season to begin making impacts in our senior teams.”

“The opportunity to compete on the senior circuit in these early season Grand Prix’s form part of the Tokyo cycle strategy as we look to new divers and increase international experience.

“Both venues are only a short one hour hop from each other and provide the chance to compete in iconic stadia in hot and humid conditions. The Grand Prix’s will give experience in travelling East and with a relatively short turn around dealing with jetlag.”

The divers have a wealth of competition experience and accolades between them; Kyle Kothari is a former European Junior Champion and World Junior medallist back from injury with a new platform list.

Leeds-based Anthony Harding is a medallist from both Dresden and the 7 Nations meets in 2017. Scarlett Mew Jensen (Dive London) and Yasmin Harper (City of Sheffield Diving) are medallists from the European Juniors and Bolzano Grand Prix in 3m Synchro event.

Southampton’s Emily Martin was a World Junior top six ranked athlete in 2016 and medallist from British National Diving Cup in 2017, and Eden Cheng of Crystal Palace Diving was the winner of the European Junior Championships in 2017.

Divers set to compete in Kuala Lumpur and Singapore:

Kyle Kothari – Dive London

Anthony Harding – City of Leeds Diving

Scarlett Mew-Jensen – Dive London

Yasmin Harper – City of Sheffield Diving

Emily Martin – Southampton Diving

Eden Cheng – Crystal Palace Diving Club