British Summer Championships: Day Six

27 Jul 2023

Day six at the British Summer Championships provided more individual action at Ponds Forge, as 800m freestyle national champions were crowned in the afternoon, and medley action continued in the evening. 

Tokyo 2020 Olympic gold medallist, Kathleen Dawson continued her build back from injury with victory in the 18 & over Women's 50m Backstroke, while London 2012 Paralympic bronze medallist, James Clegg (S12), truimphed in the Men's MC 100m Butterfly on Thursday evening in Sheffield. A further 25 Summer Champions were crowned besides them - many with future Games ambitions of their own!

Thursday's Winners

Men's 800m Freestyle

14/15 Yrs 

Ethan Kelly, City of Liverpool (GOLD)

Thomas Belt, Plymouth Leander (SILVER)

George Daintith, Warrington Warriors (BRONZE)

16 Yrs

Samuel Sterry, Tigers Jersey (GOLD)

Hayden Annan, RTW Monson (SILVER)

Samuel Williams, Wycombe District (BRONZE)

17 Yrs

Luke McGee, N & D PP SC (GOLD)

Oliver Rowe, Mount Kelly (SILVER)

Luke Hornsey, East Lothian (BRONZE)

18 Yrs

Tyler Melbourne-Smith, City of Liverpool (GOLD)

Alexander Volkovoy, City of Salford (SILVER)

Rafae Shafi, Repton (BRONZE)

19 Yrs & Over

William Bell, Loughborough University (GOLD)

Joseph Deighan, Swansea University (SILVER)

Thomas Trebilcock, Swansea University (BRONZE)

Women's 100m Freestyle

13/14 Yrs 

Hannah Capron, Brighton (GOLD)

Willow Harrison, City of Sheffield (SILVER)

Elizabeth Land, Newcastle (BRONZE)

15 Yrs

Annabelle Compton, Wycombe District (GOLD)

Emma Wood, City of Leeds (SILVER)

Eve Doherty, City of Sheffield (BRONZE)

16 Yrs

Skye Carter, Basildon Phoenix (GOLD)

Flawia Kamzol, Mount Kelly (SILVER)

Sophie Davies, Millfield (BRONZE)

17 Yrs

Hollie Widdows, Mount Kelly (GOLD)

Laurie Devine, Repton (SILVER) 

Marija Romanovskaja, Repton (BRONZE)

18 Yrs & Above

Kate Clifton, City of Sheffield (GOLD)

Jemima Hall, Bath University (SILVER) 

Erin Little, Mount Kelly (BRONZE)

Men's 200m Individual Medley

14/15 Yrs 

Llewellyn Porter, Camden Swiss (GOLD)

Aran Bissett, RTW Monson (SILVER)

Joseph Ashley, Warrington Warriors (BRONZE)

16 Yrs

Toby Godsell, Bishop Stortford (GOLD)

Raheel Mahmood, Romford Town (SILVER)

Edward Ormsby, City of Cambridge (BRONZE)

17 Yrs

David Annis, Royal Wolverhampton (GOLD)

Conor Cherrington, Millfield (SILVER)

Jonathan Turck, Mount Kelly (BRONZE)

18 Yrs

Benjamin Twynham, Derby Excel (GOLD)

Oscar Barlow, Bath University (SILVER)

Adam Graham, Millfield (BRONZE)

19 Yrs & Over

George Smith, University of Stirling (GOLD)

Ben Harrison, Loughborough University (SILVER)

Andrew Bertoli, University of Stirling (BRONZE)

Women's MC 100m Butterfly

Saskia Webb [S14], Pembrokeshire City (GOLD)

Meghan Willis [S10], Torfaen Dolphins (SILVER)

Eliza Humphrey [S11], Northampton (BRONZE)

Men's MC 100m Butterfly

James Clegg [S12], Edinburgh University (GOLD)

Rio Rogers [S14], Basildon Phoenix (SILVER)

Joseph Greaves [S14], Nova Centurion (BRONZE)

Women's 400m Individual Medley

13/14 Yrs

Abbie Roscoe, Wirral Metro (GOLD)

Amalie Smith, Tonbridge (SILVER)

Millie Threlfall, City of Leeds (BRONZE)

15 Yrs

Ines Guimond-Beetham, Camden Swiss (GOLD)

Hazel-Anne Carter, Wycombe District (SILVER)

Niamh Savory, Newcastle (BRONZE)

16 Yrs

Suzie McNair, Stirling Swimming (GOLD)

Lacey Roberts, Plymouth Leander (SILVER)

Molly Baker, City of Sheffield (BRONZE)

17 Yrs

Eleanor Broughton, Repton (GOLD)

Sholah Robinson, City of Sheffield (SILVER)

Holly Marshall, Repton (BRONZE)

18 Yrs & Over

Leah Schlosshan, City of Leeds (GOLD)

Michaella Glenister, University of Stirling (SILVER)

Beatrice Varley, Plymouth Leander (BRONZE)

Men's 50m Freestyle

14/15 Yrs

Abduljabar Adama, Mount Kelly (GOLD)

Alessandro D'Onofrio, Mount Kelly (SILVER)

Gabriel Shepherd, City of Leeds (BRONZE)

16 Yrs

Joseph Wey, Guildford City (GOLD)

Zachariah Dale, Newcastle Swim Team (SILVER)

Cameron Jamieson, Repton (BRONZE)

17 Yrs

Nicholas Finch, Chelsea & Westminster (GOLD)

Henry Gray, Chelsea & Westminster (SILVER)

Angelo Giani Contini, Newcastle (BRONZE)

18 Yrs

Matthew Ward, Mount Kelly (GOLD)

Arun Oelkers, Mount Kelly (SILVER)

Adam Graham, Millfield (BRONZE)

19 Yrs & Over

Alexander Painter, Millfield (GOLD)

Jordan Cooley, Leeds University (SILVER)

Calvin Fry, Loughborough University (BRONZE)

Women's 50m Backstroke

15 Yrs

Vanesa Cimermanova, City of Peterborough (GOLD)

Tegan Matthews, Guildford City (SILVER)

Amber Rigg, Cockermouth (BRONZE)

16 Yrs

Flawia Kamzol, Mount Kelly (GOLD)

Isobel Mather, City of Cambridge (SILVER)

Georgia Holgate, City of Cambridge (BRONZE)

17 Yrs

Libby Freeman, N & D PP SC (GOLD)

Melissa Mainwaring, West Lothian (SILVER)

Sophie Weston, Warrington Warriors (BRONZE)

18 Yrs & Over

Kathleen Dawson, University of Stirling (GOLD)

Leah Whittaker, Mount Kelly (SILVER)

Pia Murray, Leyland Barr (BRONZE)

Men's MC 50m Backstroke

Lyndon Longhorne [S4], N & D PP SC (GOLD)

Key links:

Tickets for spectators are required and are strongly advised to be purchased online via the Ticket Factory prior to attending the venue. For sessions with available capacity, tickets will be available from the ticketing desk in the Ponds Forge foyer area.