Tancock elected to BOA Athletes’ Commission

20 Nov 2018

Olympian and former World champion Liam Tancock has been successfully elected to serve on the 13-strong BOA Athletes’ Commission.

Just shy of 800 votes were cast with over a third of eligible Olympians and potential Olympians voting in the election with 21 candidates vying for only six positions.

Commenting on the election results, BOA Athletes’ Commission Chair Ben Hawes said, “I was personally delighted at the strength of all candidates who put themselves in the running and I am proud that we have so many Olympians who are willing to stand up and carry the voice of their fellow athlete.

“The BOA Athletes’ Commission is in place to ensure that athletes' interests continue to be at the heart of everything the BOA does. The six new members will be a fantastic addition to our group and I look forward to working with them as we build towards Tokyo 2020, Beijing 2022 and beyond.”

The 13-member Commission plays a key role as part of the BOA, contributing to a variety of projects such as the development of the team’s values and philosophy, team kit, athlete opportunities and transition, Team Member Agreements and inputting into accreditation panels and Games-time welfare planning as well as working with the BOA and other stakeholders to ensure teams competing at Summer, Winter and Youth Olympic Games and Festivals are as best prepared as possible.

BOA’s Athletes’ Commission 2018-2020:

Chair: Ben Hawes (Hockey)

Eric Boateng (Basketball)

Aimee Fuller (Snowboarding)

Adam Gemili (Athletics)

Katherine Grainger (Rowing)

James Rodwell (Rugby Sevens)

Joanna Rowsell Shand (Cycling)

Lizzie Simmonds (Swimming)

Callum Skinner (Cycling)

Liam Tancock (Swimming)

Kristian Thomas (Gymnastics)

Georgie Twigg (Hockey)

Lizzy Yarnold (Skeleton)