Hamer and Hynd break world records in Sheffield

25 Jul 2017

Thomas Hamer (City of Manchester Acquatics) and Ollie Hynd (Nova Centre) both broke world records on the opening night of the British Summer Championships 2017 in Sheffield.

Hamer equalled the S14 Men’s 200m Freestyle world record of 1:56.27 in the morning heats, before lowering the record by 0.09 seconds in the Men’s MC 200m Freestyle final in a new record time of 1:56.18, well inside the World Championship team consideration standard.

The world record swim saw Hamer take the Men’s MC 200m Freestyle title with 1002 points. Jack Thomas (S14, Conwy) was second with 865 points and a time of 2:02.00 and Jordan Catchpole (S14, UEA Norwich) completed the podium with 856 points after touching in 2:02.41.

Just over an hour later and the crowd in Ponds Forge witnessed another world record topple, this time from Ollie Hynd in the Men’s MC 400m Freestyle final.

Hynd knocked two seconds off the S8 world record he posted to win gold at last year’s Paralympic Games. The world record time of 4:19.74 Hynd set in Sheffield sealed victory in the Men’s MC 400m Freestyle with 1025 points and secured a World Championships consideration time.

City of Manchester Aquatics’ swimmer Michael Jones (S7) took silver with 908 points and he was joined on the podium by his teammate Jonathan Fox (S7) who won bronze with 900 points.

Jones’ time of 4:48.19 and Fox’s time 4:49.06 mean that they both also secured World Championships considerations times.

S8 swimmer Stephanie Millward (Corsham) took the Women’s MC 400m Freestyle title with a total of 892 points and a time of 4:51.11, which was within the consideration standard for the Mexico-bound World Championship team. 

The Northampton pair of Maisie Summers-Newton (S6) and Eleanor Robinson (S6) finished second and third respectively, with 843 and 834 points. Summers-Newton finished in 5:33.01 and Robinson touched in 5:34.27. 

In the Women’s MC 200m Freestyle, UEA Norwich’s Jessica-Jane Applegate (S14) claimed gold with 876 points and a time of 2:07.55, another consideration time for World Championship selection. Hatfield’s Louise Fiddes (S14) finished second with 786 points and Basildon’s Danielle Hartin (S14) took bronze with 612 points

Craig Benson (University of Stirling) lowered his 100m Breaststroke personal best for the second time in a day to claim the Men’s 100m Breaststroke 19+ years title. The 23-year-old broke 60 seconds for the first time in his career in the heats, before going even quicker in the final.

Benson’s new personal best time of 59.63 sealed the gold medal with Charlie Attwood (Bath National Centre) and David Murphy (City of Oxford) accompanying Benson on the podium. 

There was home success in the Women’s 200m Freestyle 19+ final as City of Sheffield swimmer Eleanor Faulkner added the Summer title to the British title she won in April. It was the same top-two as three months ago as Kathryn Greenslade (Edinburgh University) won silver, while Ellena Jones (Swansea Aquatics) completed the podium.

City of Leeds swimmer Georgia Coates was victorious in the 17/18 years 200m Freestyle final. Nikki Miller (Eastkilbride) won silver and Darcy Deakin (City of Sheffield) took bronze.

A closely-fought Men’s 400m Freestyle 19+ years was decided on the touch with Tom Derbyshire (Bath University) claiming the title just ahead of Sheffield’s Samuel Budd. Derbyshire’s Bath teammate Jay Lelliott won bronze

The Women’s 400m Individual Medley 19+ final was won by Stockport Metro’s Katie Matts after a close fought race. Sheffield’s Amber Keegan set the early pace, but Matts produced a strong final two legs to claim the title just ahead of Keegan. Orla Adams (Aberdeen Performance) completed the podium.

Northampton’s Edward Mildred pulled away from Winchester’s Pietro Forconi in the final 100m to win the Men’s 400m Freestyle 13/14 years age group title. Forconi finished second ahead of Pierce Greening (Cockermouth) in third.

Jessica Podger (City of Bristol) took the win and gold in the 16 years 200m Freestyle. Laura McNab (Team Bath AS) and Sophie Smith (St Thomas) finished second and third respectively.

Anna Smail (Ellesmere City College) led the field home in the 15 years 200m Freestyle final and was joined on the teammate by Georgina Dennis (Mount Kelly) and Alice Thickett (City of Sheffield).

The Women’s 200m Freestyle 13/14 years final was claimed by Iona Macleod (Dundee City Aquatics) after a close-fought battle between her and Northampton’s Betsy Wizard. Grantham’s Freya Colbert was the next to touch to secure the bronze medal.

Oliver Crosby (Stockport Metro) touched ahead of silver medallist Harry Devlin (York City) and bronze medallist Hugh Takemoto (Warrington) to claim the Men’s 17/18 years 100m Breaststroke title.

The 16 years Men’s 100m Breaststroke gold went to Jonathan Milner (City of Leeds), silver to Bradley Newman (City of Cardiff) and bronze to Alexander Boyd (Thanet Swim).

William Ellington (Millfield) was the first to the touch in the 13/14 years 100m Breaststroke final. Jason Robson (York City) was next to touch followed by Cameron Williams (Dinnaton).

Gaia Alcaras (Aberdeen Performance) took gold in the Women’s 15 years 400m Individual Medley final. Amy Corcoran (Kingston Hull) and Elizabeth Kingham (City of Birmingham) were second and third respectively. 

The final men’s event of the session was the Men’s 50 Backstroke which saw Joe Elwood (Loughborough University) claim the 19+ title ahead of last year’s winner Charlie Boldison (University of Stirling) and Craig McNally (City of Glasgow).

Nicholas Pyle of Newcastle touched home the fastest in the Men’s 50m Backstroke 17/18 years final. Next to touch was James Eddy (Wycombe District) followed by Scott Gibson (Eastkilbride).

The Men’s 16 years 50m Backstroke title was claimed by Chester’s Alex Mason. Devenport’s Harry Noble took home the silver and Dorking’s Nathan McCleave the bronze.

It was close in the centre of the pool in the Men’s 50 Backstroke 15 years race, but Jonathon Adam (City of Cambridge) got the first touch ahead of Jacob Davies (City of Birmingham) and Luke Pullen (Guildford City).

Mark Ford (City of Glasgow) took the Men’s 13/14 years 50m Backstroke title with Nicolas Skelton (City of Oxford) and Dillon Chana (Hillingdon) taking silver and bronze.

The opening day of the British Summer Championships was concluded with Beth Aitchison (Loughborough University) winning the Women’s 50m Breaststroke 19+ final. Aitchison was joined on the podium by Edinburgh University duo Kathryn Johnstone and Kara Hanlon, who finished second and third respectively.

It was a dominant display by Imogen Clark (Loughborough University) to touch first in the Women’s 17/18 years 50m Breaststroke final. Annabel Guye-Johnson (RTW Monson) and Stella Cookson (Team Bath AS) completed the podium.

Guildford’s Tatiana Belonogoff claimed the Women’s 50m Breaststroke 16 years title, touching ahead of Katie Robertson (South Ayrshire) and Abigail Hurst (Berkhamsted).

Maia Hall was victorious in the Women’s 15 years 50m Breaststroke final. City of Birmingham’s Elizabeth Kingham won silver, while Bournemouth College’s Kayla Van Der Merwe took home the bronze.

West Suffolk’s Angharad Evans was the first to touch in the Women’s 13/14 years 50m Breaststroke final to take the win ahead of the RTW Monson pair of Jemimah Berkeley and Anna Leman who accompanied Evans on the podium.

For full results from the British Summer Championships 2017 click here