Hynd doubles up in Sheffield

28 Jul 2017

Paralympic champion Ollie Hynd (SM8, Nova Centurion) stormed to victory in Sheffield in the Men’s MC 200m Individual Medley final on day four of the British Summer Championships 2017.

Hynd secured his second gold medal of the meet with 971 points in the Men’s MC 200m Individual Medley final after securing a World Championships consideration time of 2:21.36.

Tom Hamer (SM14, City of Manchester Aquatics) claimed silver with 863 points after touching in 2:15.43 and Kahoru Harazawa (SM10, Loughborough University) took bronze with 826 points and a time of 2:15.21.

Northampton swimmer Maisie Summers-Newton (SM6) produced another gold-medal winning swim as she took gold in the Women’s MC 200m IM final with a time of 3:04.78 and 921 points. The 15-year-old won the 100m Breaststroke MC title last night and she was back on top of the podium on day four.

Paralympic champion Bethany Firth (Newcastle) took silver with 886 points and a time of 2:24.04 and Jessica-Jane Applegate (UEA Norwich) also SM14 finished third with 855 points after reaching the wall in 2:25.75.

All three medallists stopped the clock below the consideration standard for the World Para Swimming Championships, which begin at the end of September.

Paralympic and world champion Hannah Russell (SM12, City of Manchester Aquatics) was victorious in the Women’s MC 50m Freestyle, she won gold with 941 points after stopping the clock in a World Championships consideration time of 27.45.

Corsham’s Stephanie Millward (SM8) finished second with 861 points and a time of 31.24 and Northampton’s Eleanor Robinson (SM6) took bronze with 823 points after finishing in 35.19.

Matthew Wylie (SM9, City of Sunderland) secured a World Championships consideration time of 25.72 as he repeated his 2016 success in the Men’s MC 50m Freestyle, securing gold with 932 points.

Silver went to Lewis White (SM9, City of Derby) who finished in 26.55 with 847 points and 821 points saw Jonathan Fox (SM7, City of Manchester Aquatics) secure bronze after touching in 29.20.

Andrew Willis (National Centre Bath) clinched the victory in a close fought Men’s 200m Breaststroke 19+ years final. Craig Benson (University of Stirling) was next to touch to take silver and Toby Mackay-Champion of City of Oxford took bronze.

Mackay-Champion’s Oxford teammate Callum Smart came out on top in the Men’s 200m Breaststroke 17/18 years final as he clinched the gold medal ahead of Jacob Greenow (Taunton Deane). Harry Devlin (York City) claimed bronze.

City of Sheffield’s Eleanor Faulkner claimed her second individual gold of the meet after adding the Women’s 100m Freestyle 19+ years title to her belt.

Faulkner equalled her personal best to touch the wall ahead of Edinburgh University’s Lucy Hope and Plymouth Leander’s Jessica Jackson, who finished second and third respectively.

Georgia Coates (City of Leeds) was another swimmer to add to her gold medal haul in the Women’s 100m Freestyle. Coates won the 17/18 years final to top the podium for the third time this week.

The silver medal went to Amy Grant (City of Derby) and bronze to Darcy Deakin (City of Sheffield).

Adam Barrett (Loughborough University) successfully defended his 100m Butterfly title after winning the Men’s 19+ years final. Barrett touched ahead of Adam Taylor (City of Sunderland) and Kevin Wallbank (Loughborough University) to take the win.

Lizzie Simmonds (Edinburgh University) claimed her second gold medal of the Summer Championships, adding the Women’s 200m Backstroke 19+ years title to the 100m Backstroke gold she won on Wednesday.

Simmonds was joined by silver medallist Chloe Golding (City of Manchester Aquatics) and bronze medallist Candice Hall (Loughborough University).

Cassie Wild (Ellesmere College) led from start to finish in the Women’s 200m Backstroke 17/18 years final as she secured gold. Next to touch was Rachel Wellings (City of Peterborough) who took silver, closely followed by bronze medallist Eleanor Baldwin (City of Derby).

For full results from Day 4 of the British Summer Championships click here

Picture credit Morgan Harlow