Swimmers selected for season-ending European Champs

19 Jul 2022

A strong team comprising current and future stars of British Swimming will look to round out a packed summer of international competition in style at next month's European Aquatics Championships in Rome (11th-21st August). 

With an impressive showing at a unique World Championships already in the bag, and a British-based Commonwealth Games on the way in the coming weeks, the European Championships will provide the third and final major competition chance for what is currently a 31-strong cohort.

That group includes triple Olympic and 16-time European champion Adam Peaty - who was forced to miss the Worlds due to injury - newly-crowned Men's 50m Freestyle world champion Ben Proud and Tokyo 2020 gold medal winners Anna Hopkin and Tom Dean.

There is also the inclusion of Luke Greenbank, who won individual and relay medals at the World Championships, backstroke breakthrough competitor Medi Harris, who enjoyed a brilliant debut Worlds, and James Guy, the winner of seven European golds at his previous three instalments.

Fifteen of the team that swam at the World Championships will be back for their third major competition in as many months, while a host more will follow on from the Commonwealths to compete in Rome - including a clutch of first-time senior GB internationals. The eight senior British Swimming debutants are Jonathon Adam, Greg Butler, Lauren Cox, Kara Hanlon, Isabella Hindley, Jonathon Marshall, Sebastian Somerset and Mason Wilby.

Britain's performance at last year's European Championships in Budapest was a historic one, setting the platform for a record-breaking medal haul at the Olympic Games later in the summer. The British team for 2022 will be targeting another set of big swims in the iconic Stadio Olimpico del Nuoto this time around on the back of a packed summer, with the ultimate focus being on the two-year build towards Paris 2024.

"This event brings to a close an unprecedented few months of competition for our athletes. As ever, we have been impressed by the way in which they have approached two or three such important competitions in short succession, both in their preparation and their racing," said Chris Spice, British Swimming Performance Director.

Medi Harris 50m Backstroke PB swim-off Budapest 2022
Medi Harris

"A smaller British team competed brilliantly at the World Championships last month, and we are excited to see how the swimmers fare as they join up in their Home Nation teams for the Commonwealths. Following that, it is fantastic that we can select a team of such varied experience and talent for the Europeans, with some of our swimmers heading to their fourth Europeans, and others competing in a senior GB cap for the very first time.

"This meet will provide chances for some high-quality competition, but most importantly, we are also keen to see how our younger athletes perform in the senior environment as we look to identify swimmers for Paris 2024 and beyond. We will obviously be missing a few established stars, so this will also be a fantastic opportunity for us to further test the depth of our relay squads with future competitions in mind.

"Those swimmers who have elected not to attend the European Championships have done so with our full support, as they focus on their own, individual situations ahead of a hugely important 2023 season."

As per the selection policy for this year's European Championships, there is scope for a team of up to 35 athletes, with potential for further selections to be made following the conclusion of the swimming programme at the Commonwealth Games. Any further selections will be communicated in due course.

British Swimming team for the European Championships in Rome (swimming programme - 11th-17th August)

Freya Anderson - Bath Performance Centre

Tom Dean - Bath Performance Centre

Luke Greenbank - Loughborough Performance Centre

Ben Proud - Bath University

James Wilby - Loughborough Performance Centre

Brodie Williams - Bath Performance Centre

Athletes selected under section 5.1 of the relevant selection policy

James Guy - Bath Performance Centre

Medi Harris - Swansea University

Lucy Hope - University of Stirling

Anna Hopkin - Loughborough Performance Centre

Matt Richards - Millfield

Jacob Whittle - Loughborough Performance Centre

Athletes selected under section 5.2 of the relevant selection policy

Jonathon Adam - Bath Performance Centre

Kieran Bird - Bath Performance Centre

Greg Butler - Loughborough Performance Centre

Freya Colbert - Nova Centurion

Lauren Cox - Loughborough University

Kara Hanlon - Edinburgh University

Isabella Hindley - Brompton Swimming Club

Cameron Kurle - University of Stirling

Keanna MacInnes - University of Stirling

Jonathon Marshall - FAST

Ed Mildred - Bath Performance Centre

Adam Peaty - Loughborough Performance Centre

Jacob Peters - Bath Performance Centre

Katie Shanahan - City of Glasgow Swim Team

Sebastian Somerset - Loughborough University

Laura Stephens - Loughborough Performance Centre

Alys Thomas - Swansea University

Tamryn Van Selm - Millfield

Mason Wilby - Loughborough University

Athletes selected under section 5.4 of the relevant selection policy 

Last week, we announced the diving team that will be heading to Rome for the European Championships next month. Find out more about that team here